Skip to content

Wally McIntosh Memorial Scholarship

Wally McIntosh would certainly be proud of the hardworking students recognized each year through a Memorial Scholarhip award presented in his name by the Ontario Sheet Metal Contractors Association (OSM). The former OSM president who passed away in 1982 at the height of his career always held education in high esteem.

Each year presents a new challenge for the panel of five judges who decide on the most deserving applicants. Not only are their academic achievements considered, but so are their extra-curricular activities, community outreach, leadership qualities and employment history.

For 2022 OSM is offering four $2500 scholarships to children of OSM member firm employees who are graduating from high school, and entering college or university studies. This is an increase of two scholarships from previuos years!

The scholarship fund also offers an annual $1000 award to the graduated union apprentice of the Ontario Sheet Metal Workers' Training Centre achieving the highest averaged marks in all three day school programs. The qualifying apprentice must have attended all three phases of day school at the training centre.

Winners Announced

The 2021 scholarships have been awarded to Luca DeChellis and Leah McIntee.

Mr. DeChellis is the son of Anthony DeChellis, Vice President of E. S. Fox Ltd. and is enrolled in the Engineering program at Queens University.

Miss McIntee is the daughter of Michael McIntee of Lancaster Group and is enrolled in Health Sciences at the University of Western Ontario.

The 2022 apprentice award was presented to Sawyer Smyth. Mr. Sawyer has obtained the Certificate of Qualification as a journeyperson and is employed with TSS Air Systems.

Congratulations to all recipients!